You Can’t Hide on the Web

Posted: September 6, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

Every once in a while I Google my name. We’ve all done it. And if you haven’t, well you need to become a little more self-absorbed.

You don’t have to be famous to be immortalized as a search result. Last week I called the library to schedule a board meeting for the youth football organization that I am a member of. The contents of that call are now posted on the library website.

For the past ten years I’ve written a newsletter for the same group and most of them make it to the league’s website. They also show up in the search. Last year I wrote a short response to a Stevie Wonder concert review that appeared on a Philadelphia newspaper’s website. That’s in there too.

I enter an NCAA pool every year on ESPN.com. My brackets and placings (2nd last year, Ist the year before, and third the year before that) are also a part of the search results.

I then entered my name under IMAGES. Fifteen results appeared. I’ll share a few of them. What I won’t show you is the nude shot from a film in which I appeared in the early 1990’s.

   

  

I also found out a few things about myself that I didn’t know. I gave a comprehensive lecture on Corvette horns at a recent Chapter NCRS Judging School (that probably explains some of the pictures above).

I was the manager of the Miamisburg Sting during a fast-pitch softball tournament in Northern Kentucky last season (that would explain the lack of income during that time).

I was delighted with a softball clinic that my 9 year-old, Jessica, attended in Miamisburg (I’ve kept her a secret for almost a decade. GOOGLE BE DAMNED!).

And I attended Bellbrook High School from 1978 until 1982 (my parents had always told me that I attended Bristol Central High School those same years).

Yes, the Internet keeps no secrets. It reminds me of the time a few years ago when I was doing a search on the local sex offender registry. I check it every year as a way to be sure that nobody on the list is hanging around during our youth football practices or games.

I found one person that I knew on the list and his picture caused my heart to thump like a freaking Neil Peart drum solo. It was my former Cub Scout leader who was also a family friend many years ago!

The Internet is a powerful tool and I love it. So powerful in fact, that it can hurt.

 

`

Leave a Reply

