I Caught Ya!

Posted: September 10, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

Don’t even try it. I can see that you are passing right over the Aflac info. Well I’m not going to apologize for being a nag because I would rather be three years too early than one day too late.

I enrolled people at my daughter’s job for Short Term Disability. For those of you that don’t know what that is, it is a policy that protects your paycheck. If you are injured or sick, it will pay you about 70% of your pay.

So anyway, one guy kept putting me off even though he wanted to speak to me about it. As it turns out, a few weeks later he was diagnosed with cancer. He’s no longer eligible for the plan.

I have a daycare center in Branford. My favorite employee is the older woman at the front desk. I see her once a year. She has our Accident Policy. I found out last month after a visit there that she has cancer. Dammit, I thought. I tried to talk her into a Disability Policy last year but as most of us think, we’ll never need it and who has the extra money anyway?

Even if I had sold her a Cancer Policy, she would have made a lot of money that would have helped to offset being out of work. It would have helped to pay her bills.

I did get to see her on a visit that same week. She was in between chemo treatments and missed the children and missed being able to work… even if for just a few hours. Her advice to the daycare director (a friend of hers) was, “Look at what happened to me, sign up for a policy… today!”

Then there’s ME. I didn’t have a Disability Policy when they discovered my tumor. I missed time from work and am still trying to catch up. Now, I fear, it will be extremely difficult to qualify for a plan.

So please, please, please… take a good look at some of this stuff and if you have any questions please email me @ ron.goralski@snet.net. I would not try and sell you something that I did not totally believe in.

There is a reason why Aflac is a Fortune 500 Company (top 200)!

Leave a Reply

