Feeling Blah

Posted: September 12, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

I woke up at 4am, having fallen asleep on the couch with a wicked headache. It was towards the back of the head which is unusual for me. I went up to bed, kicked out the 10 year-old and woke up three hours later. The headache had moved to my eyeballs which is a sign that I’m not sleeping enough.

A friend of mine can live on 4-5 hours of sleep a night. Not only can he live on it, but he seems to be a sort of Superman. I can handle that pace for a couple of weeks but eventually it wears me down.

I’d love to sleep more at night. I wish I went to bed earlier but I can’t. I always have something that I want to do; something to read; or to research; or discover. This time I spent the early morning hours looking for on-line writing jobs that paid more than .000005 cents per word.

The night before was special. The 25 year-old stopped by at about 9p to drop off a flashlight. We talked for the next 3+ hours. He had just discovered and read Tuesdays with Morrie. He said it had changed his life. I could tell. I told him I wanted to see him more. We hugged before he left.

I spend a lot of time doing things for youth football this time of the year. Being on the board of an organization as a volunteer is like another full-time job. It’s also another reason why I lose sleep.

Then there’s being overwhelmed with life’s issues to the point that it’s hard to push those thoughts aside in favor of a pillow.

The morning headache that I was writing about did not go away. Actually I have a feeling I’m coming down with something. I slept all day in three layers of clothes. I took a sick day. I can’t stay sick though. I don’t have time to sleep.

There’s still the coaches shirts to pick up and the newsletter to finish. I have to fill the car on Saturday night with stuff that youth football players and parents like to buy. Sunday is opening day for the league. That’s an 8a-4p day.

Eventually the lack of sleep will catch up with you no matter how fast you try to run away from it… unless of course you are Superman.

Leave a Reply

