Networking… networking… networking…

Posted: September 29, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah
Tags:

I’m networking. As we’ve discussed in prior posts, I have a cold-calling phobia. I also have trouble walking into a business unannounced and asking to set up an appointment.

At our Monday Morning Meeting (or MMM for short), one of my peers shared some statistics that he had learned last week. He said that cold-calls produce about a 20% success rate for booking appointments, while referrals from friends and business owners were closer to 80%.

That’s what I need my friends. I need referrals. I need to sit with business owners of companies from 3 to 3000 (or more) people. And the message is simple: Aflac is the cement that holds the bricks of a traditional insurance plan together. We don’t change anything that is already in place. It costs the company nothing to offer to its employees. And if we are a fit, we can save the company money on their taxes.

A person’s insurance plan is built to pay the doctors and hospitals. Aflac pays the policyholders cash so that they can do whatever they need to do with the money.

Please take a few minutes to think about the people that you know and the people that they may know. I’ve been to companies where the employer did not offer Short Term Disability but allowed me to come in and sell each person their own policy. Everybody needs to protect their paycheck.

Thanks for your time!

Comments
  1. Tom House says:

    hey, so I read your blog once in a while. I like your analogy here. I have represented AFLAC for 17 years and am a RSC in Clearwater, FL. You are welcome to email me and let me know how things are going. I would be happy to give you my insight on success.

    Tom

  2. Ron says:

    Hi Tom,
    Wow how cool is that? How did you find me? And yes I would love to pick your brain about how you became successful. I will be in touch soon.

    Ron

Leave a Reply

