I’m back

Posted: October 28, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah, Mud and Thunder

It’s been a long few days.

My newsletter got a few people upset by me referring to a football game as the Loser Bowl. OK so maybe I wouldn’t use those exact words again but the message was meant to be a positive one. I’ll let you decide for yourself.

ithp_vol_10_-iss_7

Then I was in the middle to two coaches that wanted to fight each other. It’s been a whirlwind of emails and phone calls and protests and mean people saying mean things so I’m completely burned out over the entire situation.

If you are thinking of being on the board of a youth sports league, don’t freaking do it! Run away as fast as you possibly can and don’t look back. The kids are fabulous are as most of the parents and coaches. But the rest of them suck the joy and enthusiasm for the job right out of your body.

I’m still riding a wave of emotions¬†here so pardon me if I sound upset. I’m not even going to rehash the details except to say that one coach approached another after a game and then they began shouting. Both had to be held back. I was stuck between them. I was yelling too. I was shouting to one of them to go home and for the other to keep walking away in the opposite direction.

They wouldn’t listen. It was more important for them to keep fighting and thus setting a bad example in front of the kids that look up to them and the parents that trust them with those kids. It blows my mind. I always feel bad for the coach that was baited. But just walk away. Stick your fingers in your ears… pull hard enough to snap the line… and swim to deeper water.

I’m just a little worn down after my wonderful adventures this weekend. Don’t give up on me!

Comments
  1. Karen....your "hair guru" says:

    Well, I personally didn’t see anything but a POSITIVE message in the lates Hogpen.
    You can’t please ’em all Ron.
    I applaud your efforts in what seems to be a life altering experience over there in hog heaven!

Leave a Reply

