Huh?

Posted: November 25, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

So I met with a guy today in Waterbury. He’s a financial planner and we met at the Farmington Chamber of Commerce Trade Show a few weekends ago. He was one of the twenty people that actually attended that day.

We hit it off immediately and agreed to meet and see if we could work together and bring more business to the other. I went to his office in Waterbury. It’s above Bank of America on the fourth floor.

I unveiled all of my Aflac products and he liked them. He seemed to think that they’d fit into some of the businesses that he sees. He then proceeded to tell me what he does. I smiled and nodded knowingly while he described his services. I laughed when I was supposed to laugh and I agreed when I was supposed to agree.

I understood less than 10% of what he was talking about. If he had a view into my skull, he would have probably stuffed me back into the elavator.

But he’s a really nice guy. He dressed sharp, nice hair, very fit, and extremely confident. The exact opposite of me.

So after our meeting he showed me around the office. As it turned out it’s his own office. In fact, as it turned out, it was HIS entire floor… all 12,000 square feet of it! Yup. The guy owned the whole freaking fourth floor.

He has no idea that I have to hide the Subaru behind the house (sometimes) or that I have no idea what my Aflac stock statement is telling me.

I left there feeling great about the new relationship that had just begun between us. I also left there feeling a lot like an underachiever and a little like a failure. 

WOW! Do I sound a little bummed-out tonight or what?

I think I need an evening of Yahtzee with some good friends that I haven’t seen in a while.

Comments
  1. Shae Cardenas says:

    Hi Ron,
    I just came across your web site because I was searching for blogs about Aflac. I am a new agent in the state of Oklahoma and LOVE your story! It just goes to show you that you never know who you are going to meet.
    Where are you located?
    Shae Cardenas

    shae_cardenas@us.aflac.com

Leave a Reply

