Holiday party

Posted: December 4, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah, My Ankle, Now I hate Kids

My holiday party was tonight. Parties are a great way to get together with coworkers. We don’t see them enough as it is. I’ll have to ask one of them how it was. I don’t like parties.

Instead, I turned an empty room in the basement into a playroom for when the ten year-old has his weird little friends over the house. I don’t like the kids being in the same room that I’m in.

Usually I have them stay on the three-season porch but I noticed it was about 35 degrees out there tonight.

When I think of a project to do, I have to do it right away even if  it’s something that I should have help with.

The eighteen year-old left the room totally trashed. He and his mother cleaned most of it over the weekend but neither of them pays particular attention to detail. So I come in at the end and finish up the job.

Well the furniture is that old double-boarded, thick wood type that weighs way too much. I took a hutch off of the dresser and let it crash onto both feet.

One inch either way and I would have either broken six toes or cracked my cement-filled ankle. Both feet are swollen and black and blue.

I couldn’t stop though. I had to finish the job. I needed to make enough room for the futon, extra heavy foot-crushing ugly wooden furniture, the pitiful little TV, and a huge table from the ten year-old’s bedroom that he puts his Legos on.

I moved everything around about twenty times but left the freaking hutch where it was. After about an hour I found the right setup. My feet were throbbing so I left the transferring of the Legos for another night.

It’ll be nice to have a room where the ten year-old and his friends can play during the winter. I’d rather they are in the basement instead of his bedroom. It’s more soundproof and I don’t need to keep my headphones on.

I’m not sure when or why I began to dislike having neighborhood kids in the house. I know I’m much more impatient and cranky than I was fifteen years ago. Maybe I’ll peak and get back to being more tolerant.

Oh who am I fooling? It’s not going to get any better. But the one saving grace is that this is the last child.

So maybe, just maybe I can muster up enough patience to last me the next eight to ten years.

Comments
  1. muchblahaboutus says:

    This is one of the funniest blog entries I have read in a long time. Sorry about your feet you freaking eager beaver! Should have went to the party and had a few drinks with Sarah and I.

  2. Ron Goralski says:

    I should have. Can you rub my feet Monday?

Leave a Reply

