Today

Posted: December 11, 2008 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

I had my first experience at a pawn shop today. We need cash very quickly so I went in there with a zip-lock baggie half-full of shiny stuff.

Talk about feeling worthless. I think I’d rather be seen going into an adult toy store. Everyone knows why you are there. And sure enough, after speaking with the guy behind the counter, he assured me that I was not the first regular guy to sneak in and out with the hopes of scoring a car payment.

He told me stories of people that had lost jobs or had jobs where it was becoming more difficult to make a living. He’d never seen anything like it in all of his years in the business. People were trading sentiment and memories for daily living expenses.

He dumped my little bag out onto the counter and told me not to be offended as he tossed the junk items back into the bag. The other items were separated by catagory I think.

He did scratch tests to determine how many karats of gold each item was. He looked through his eye-piece to see if a stone was glued or set into place.

I walked out with half a car payment.

A story like this is hard to share, especially with people that I may not know very well. But when I decided to write a Blog I knew that I wanted to share the good with the bad because it’s real life. In this case it’s my life.

So please don’t think that I’m looking for pity when writing about certain situations. I write because it’s wonderful therapy for me and if I can make you laugh, cry, think, or react along the way… that’s a bonus.

Leave a Reply

