2009 already?

Posted: January 2, 2009 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

How did it get so late so soon?
It’s night before it’s afternoon.
December is here before it’s June.
My goodness how the time has flewn.
How did it get so late so soon?
~Dr. Seuss

I’ve been thinking a lot about my own mortality lately.

I’ve been wondering what my legacy will be. Will I even have a legacy and if so, how long will it last?

Some people’s legacies will never die.

Mark Twain
Abe Lincoln
Dr. Seuss
Nelson Mandella
Elvis

There are thousands more. People whose contributions to society and history will never be forgotten.

I have five wonderful children. I’ve named a youth football team and started an award that gets handed out to one special individual every year. I’ve coached kids of all ages over the past 25+ years. I write a newsletter. I’ve been employee of the month. I worked with adults with mental retardation for 18 years. My name can be Googled.

Something is missing.

Some people can walk quietly through life, accomplish great or ordinary things, and not care if anyone notices. I admire them.

I don’t want to be forgotten in 100 years.

Maybe that makes me sound self-centered but I’ve never lived my life like that. I’m still trying to figure out exactly what it means. What does it say about me that I have the need to be remembered long after I am gone and long after everyone that knew me is also gone?

 

I collect my favorite books. I can’t get rid of them when I’ve finished reading them. I just stood in front of my bookcase, eyes closed, and pulled off a book.

It was, The Wheels of Chance by H.G. Wells. Most people don’t know that he was a bicycling enthusiast. 

“When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race.”  ~H.G. Wells

I’m fascinated with popular quotes and how they can inspire people over and over again. I’m equally as impressed by the people that keep those quotes in their memories and can use them when the feeling or opportunity arises.

What an incredible tribute it must be to have said something so profound that it gets repeated or read over and over again.

Perhaps by the time that I’ve thought my last thought, and spoken my last sentence, something will have spilled from my mouth worthy of being repeated in someones 4009 New Year’s Day blog entry.

“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.”

– Chuck Palahniuk

 

 

Leave a Reply

