The windshield wiper blades

Posted: January 9, 2009 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

I’m the kind of guy that likes to help out my friends whenever possible.

So when a friend of mine (I’ll refer to him as Fred because I don’t want the poor guy to feel like a total loser) stopped over last night, I was more than happy to help him with his windshield wiper blades.

Not everyone is blessed with common sense when it comes to simple tasks and Fred is one of those guys.

Instead of installing them myself, I figured he’d learn better by trying it on his own. What a freaking mistake that turned out to be.

He first tried to replace the driver’s side wiper. Not only did Fred put it on backwards, but as he pulled it off, he snapped a little piece of plastic off which meant he wouldn’t be able to use it.

I felt bad because I was there to guide him through the process. But even after reading the directions, he still screwed it up. What I dope, I thought. Luckily we kept the old one and I helped him put it back on.

It was beginning to rain hard when he started the second one. I was getting irritated and drenched. I couldn’t believe Fred was such an idiot.

Forty-five minutes later the job was complete. I didn’t invite Fred in to dry off because I just wanted to forget about the whole ordeal.

Yup… sure glad I’m not like Fred.

Comments
  1. Sister says:

    Poor Fred, Not everyone can do simple tasks, but I bet he can call someone on the phone with no problem and get some business! You leave Fred alone

  2. Wife says:

    Ron, Fred is like family. I can’t believe you would treat him like that. I love him. Yabba dabba do!!

  3. Kristen says:

    I’m with you… For crying out loud in a bucket, I am a WOMAN and I can change my own wiper blades, check my oil, fill my washer fluid, and put air in my tires. I can assemble a gas grill and do-it-yourself furniture, and all the kid’d toys… I know that I have been blessed with my mechanical inclination, and I should just be thankful and keep my mouth closed and my opinions to myself, but it just boggles my mind and I have no self control when it comes to these things to not say to people that I don’t get how they can have NO CLUE WHATSOEVER on how to even begin any of these things. At any rate, you are still a better person than me because I probably would have just started grumbling and pushed him out of the way so I could finish it myself. You have way more patience than I do apparently. Well that was refreshing, and took me one step further towards staruting my own blog here. Sorry to monopolize your space, and I hope that wasn’t Duckman!

  4. Ron says:

    Actually… I’m Fred.

  5. Kristen says:

    Actually… I didn’t mean a word of that. See what I mean about the no self control 😦 Bad day turning into a bad week. Sorry.

  6. karen says:

    That’s okay Ron, You have a very big caring heart, and that’s way more important than being able to assemble things, at least you tried!

Leave a Reply

