I collect stories

Posted: January 13, 2009 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

I met with a gentleman yesterday to write him a cancer and a short term disability policy. His father died a few years ago from cancer. But that wasn’t the whole story.

A couple of years ago he lost his only son. The night before his death they had been out plowing snow together and everything seemed fine.

Apparently he had a preexisting heart condition that was being treated. He went into the hospital and died of a heart aneurysm.

Looking into this gentleman’s eyes, I could see myself staring back at me. You shouldn’t have to bury a child, he said while redirecting his focus to his coffee.

We talked more about his son and the day that he died. I felt privileged that he was comfortable enough to share his heartache with me.

Leave a Reply

