Dad is moving

Posted: February 21, 2009 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah, Now I hate Kids

I can stand on my porch and almost spit far enough to hit the side of my father’s house.

Well after tomorrow it won’t be his house anymore. And that will be strange because there wasn’t a house there at all until he had it built.

At one time or another all three of my older kids left my house to move next door and help Gramps out. It saved me a lot of extra work but gave them a little too much freedom at times.

It doesn’t really matter why he won’t have the house anymore. It’s just sad for me that it won’t be the place where my older kids live and hang out with their friends. Yes, they’ve done some stupid things over there and it’s time for them to move on, but I’ll miss having them show up at my door for a slice of bread or to talk about the Giants.

I’ll miss my dad too. Many of the stupid things that went on over there had to do with him. But I still love him. He’s the only father I have and when he’s gone I’ll never have another one.

My ten year-old likes going over there to play table football or whatever else they do when he goes over there. They’ll both miss that.

I won’t know what to do when the ten year-old is sick and I need to be at an appointment or when he forgets his key and I’m running ten minutes late.

We won’t be able to play Wiffle ball in the back yard anymore either. The side of his house was a double and over the roof was a home run. I don’t think the new neighbors will appreciate little plastic balls banging against their siding and windows all summer.

It might be hard to play basketball in the driveway now too. The ball is always bouncing off his house and when you are inside it sounds like a small bomb has gone off.

He was tolerant like that.

I also used his basement as a home gym and storage bin. I’ll be losing that too.

I guess I worry about how my father will be on his own. He’ll be almost twenty miles away and if he falls out of his wheelchair in the middle of the night, I won’t be able to run across the yard anymore. And the boys won’t be there to help me to get him up.

I guess there’s no use in worrying about such things. I’ll just have to take them as they come.

It’s probably a good thing that there won’t be another season of Wiffle ball. The ten year-old’s home run totals where very high over the past two years and there has been talk about a banned substance.

I’m not good when it comes to change. Especially when it involves blood and spit.

Comments
  1. 24-year old says:

    It makes me sad too. I mived into that house when I was 13! 😦 Soo many awesome memories! And poor grandpa.

Leave a Reply

