Paperweights

Posted: March 25, 2009 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah, Hal and Adele, My Mom
Tags: ,

I found a paperweight yesterday that my Nana had given to me about thirty-five years ago.

Too-many years earlier, it sat on her desk when she worked at the Department of Something-or-Other. I should have paid more attention to what department it was. I vaguely remember her pointing out the building to me whenever we drove past it.

I put Nana’s paperweight on my desk next to another paperweight. The other paperweight is clear and has an owl inside of it. It’s not a real owl because that would be really freaky and probably illegal. I wouldn’t even like owls except that my mom collected them when she was alive (not to be confused with what she is collecting while she is dead).

I’m not even sure what a paperweight is meant to do. Unless you have an outdoor office, I doubt the papers need to be weighted down.

For me, they are a constant reminder of the two women that had the most impact on my formative years. Come to think of it, they had quite an impact on me as an adult right up until the day that each of them left.

Maybe paperweights were invented to help with keeping some of our most precious memories in place.

As the years pile up, I can use all the help that I can get.

Comments
  1. Eric says:

    O.M.G.!!! You’re trying to become the next Andy Rooney on 60 Minutes!! Funny stuff and great observations. (You’ll have to work on growing out your eyebrows.)

  2. muchblahaboutus says:

    This is very nice. You are deep my friend.

Leave a Reply

