Grandpa Me: Scene One

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah

   I’ve been a grandfather for about three weeks. I’m sure a lot of you out there are grandparents too. But I’m thinking that most of you are not.
   I don’t think I look much like a grandfather. The only gray hair I have is sprinkled in- ever so slightly with my facial hair. I still have all of my teeth. In fact I’m still waiting for my turn to get braces. I have a black football practice jersey that makes my upper body look rather muscular. My thighs still bulge slightly beneath my cycling shorts. I don’t see a grandpa in the mirror when I shave.
   I don’t physically feel like a grandfather. I’m pretty sure that if I really had to, I could get on my bike right now and pedal fifty miles without training for it. 
   I don’t listen to grandparent music. OK that’s not completly true. I actually enjoy Ella and Sinatra as much as Dave Matthews and U2. 
   I don’t say grandparent things. Well I will admit that sometimes when addressing one of my kids it may take three tries before matching the right kid with the correct name. But that’s only when I get excited or angry.
   My Nana would collect packets of jelly and sugar from restaurants and give them to us just in case we didn’t have any in the house. I have collections but they all consist of non-perishable items. She would also have a little container in her pocketbook and fill it at the breakfast buffet. I don’t even have a pocketbook and I’d never even think of putting a food item in my laptop case.
   Nana had an underwear pad. I have an iPad. My grandfather shot pool and bowled. I like pool tables but not for pool.  I once threw a perfect game in bowling. Don’t let anyone EVER tell you that Wii Bowling is not like the real thing.
   I’m a grandfather. I’m just not sure how to wear it yet.

(Coming in Scene Two: Looking into her eyes)

Comments
  1. Beth says:

    I am so happy to see you blogging again and especially happy to read about the newest addition to your family.

Leave a Reply

